Skip to content

Worthy of love

16/07/2013
Love is, that you are the knife which I plunge into myself.
― Franz Kafka

I recently got into a comment fight with a guy who told me I was worthy of love.

And just WTF was that supposed to mean?

What did I do to deserve that?

Seems to me there’s only one way to be worthy of anything.
Get it.

If I’ve already got love, I hardly need to be told I’m worthy of it by a complete stranger.

If I haven’t got some, but I’m worthy, who is ripping me off? Why aren’t I getting my share?

How can I be worthy of love if there’s no-one worthy of loving me?
Why would I think I fit someone else’s criteria anyway?
People can be kinda fussy.

If I can be worthy of something there’s gotta be something I could do – or fail to do – that would make me unworthy, right?
How would he know whether I’ve done it?

And what the hell is ‘love’?

Romantic love? brotherly love? erotic love? …

I sure hope my Mum didn’t look at my shrivelled, purple, newborn form and think “Hmm, is this one worthy?”.

He must have really hated me to have said that.

From → confusion, rant

4 Comments
  1. I thought everybody was love-worthy.

    Like

    • If everyone is worthy of something then worthiness means nothing.

      You don’t need to be worthy to get born so how can just being born make you worthy of something?

      I don’t like the idea of worthiness for the same reason I don’t like the idea of justification.
      You can’t be worthy or unworthy of life or love – you just have it or you don’t.
      You don’t need to justify your existence you just need to exist – until you don’t.

      People don’t have worth because that would imply they are a medium of exchange. A means to an end.
      They are an end unto themselves – neither worthy nor worthless.

      Like

  2. Perhaps he meant you’re worthy of inspiring love? Which is an entirely different thing, it speaks more of societal values and expectations than of your or anyone else’s personal “worthiness”.

    Like

Over to you

